Action, fun and new records at Simola

There was plenty of adrenaline-fuelled action and drama at the 14th running of the Simola Hillclimb in Knysna.

24 Hill F1

The top three quickest cars saw Robert Wolk earn his first King of the Hill title in the Single Seater, Sports Car and Sports Prototypes category, while Dawie Joubert claimed the Modified Saloon Car win for the first time. JP van der Walt entrenched his domination of the Road Car and Supercar category by taking his fourth consecutive title.

  • Class Finals

There were exciting class battles throughout the field for individual honours, including the new class B10 for modified street-legal cars. The 2024 Simola Hillclimb certainly produced a spectacular show for the fans in attendance, as well as the large number of online enthusiasts watching the livestream from around the world.

The class winners were:

Road Cars and Supercars (provisional results, subject to final confirmation)

  • A1: Thomas Falkiner – Suzuki Swift Sport - 53.784 sec.
  • A2: Nico Nel – BMW M135i xDrive - 56.928 sec.
  • A3: Farhaad Ebrahim – Toyota Supra - 45.264 sec.
  • A4: JP van der Walt – Porsche 911 Turbo S - 43.513 sec.
  • A5: Dayaan Padayachey – Porsche Cayman GTS - 49.322 sec.
  • A6: Gordon Nicholson – Audi R8 V10 Plus - 47.003 sec.
  • A7: James Temple – Shelby Mustang Super Snake - 47.833 sec.
  • A8: Clint Weston – Mercedes-AMG GT63 E-Performance: 44.134 sec

Modified Saloon Cars

  • B1: Shuaib Dhansay – Ford Fiesta - 57.850 sec.
  • B2: Daniel Rowe – Volkswagen Polo SupaCup - 44.058 sec.
  • B4: Dawie Joubert – Lotus Exige (Ferrari V8) - 38.966 sec.
  • B5: Aldo Scribante – Audi S4 - 41.413 sec.
  • B6: Paul Munro – BMW M3 - 46.874 sec.
  • B7: Pieter Joubert – Lotus Exige (Mercedes-AMG V8) - 43.373 sec.
  • B9: Arnold du Plessis – Nissan Patrol Black Hawk - 54.457 sec.
  • B10: Steve Clark – Nissan R34 GT-R - 43.544 sec.

Single Seater, Sports Car and Sports Prototypes

  • C2: Ian Schofield – Mygale SJ Formula Ford - 42.048 sec.
  • C3: Robert Wolk – Pillbeam MP58 (Infinity Indycar V8) - 37.133 sec.
  • C4: Josef Kotze – Birkin S3 (Toyota) - 54.411 sec.
  • C6: Rui Campos – Shelby CanAm (Ford V8) - 41.826 sec.

Spirit of Dave Charlton Award

For the 2024 King of the Hill, the award went to Team Scuderia Scribante, headed by brothers Silvio and Aldo Scribante from Gqeberha.

More Industry News stories

BAIC SA wins prestigious award in China

BAIC SA wins prestigious award in China

BAIC South Africa has won the prestigious Excellent Retail Award at the Chinese manufacturer’s 2024 BAIC global distributor business event.

  • 17 May 2024
Building blocks for new manufacturing plant in place

Building blocks for new manufacturing plant in place

The final building blocks for the establishment of South Africa’s latest automotive manufacturing site have been laid, paving the way for construction to begin shortly at the Coega Special Economic Zone (SEZ) in Gqeberha, Nelson Mandela Bay in the Eastern Cape.

  • 17 May 2024