Kia Sonet range updated and revised

Kia South Africa introduced and drastically updated Sonet in the South African market, building on a range that has done very well since its local introduction here during 2021.

24 Kia Sonet1

What’s new?

The latest generation now boasts a significantly updated exterior design, an upgraded interior and a repositioned range in the highly competitive A-SUV segment of the market.


At the front, the new Sonet gains a new light signature, a new front bumper, an updated iteration of Kia’s signature ‘tiger nose’ grille, and a revised fender and bonnet, all combining to create a notably more dramatic visage.

At the rear, this sporty, wide stance is reiterated through redesigned tail lights that are horizontally connected just beneath the rear windscreen, giving Sonet a new rear light signature that complements the redesigned tailgate and rear bumper.


Inside two infotainment screen sizes are on offer – an 8-inch colour touchscreen and a 10.25-inch integrated colour touchscreen – depending on the grade. A combination of black cloth and artificial leather upholstered seats is standard, while higher specification models are fitted as standard with artificial leather upholstery.


The new Kia Sonet retains the familiar, reliable naturally aspirated 1.5-litre MPI and turbocharged 1.0-litre GDi petrol engines that the range is known for. The success of the 1.5-litre powertrain has resulted in the range offering a broader variety of models with this engine, with the number of derivatives powered by the 1.0-litre T-GDi being reduced.

The 1.5 MPI three-cylinder engine produces 85 kW and 144 Nm, while the four-cylinder 1.0-litre T-GDi engine develops 88 kW and 172 Nm.

Customers have a choice between a 5-speed manual transmission or CVT for the 1.5-litre, or a 7-speed dual clutch transmission (DCT) for the 1.0 T-GDi.

Revised range:

The inherent ‘big car’ engineering of the Sonet is complemented by additional features such as an Anti-Lock Braking System (ABS) with Electronic Brakeforce Distribution (EBD), Electronic Stability Control (ESC), Hill-start Assist Control (HAC), ISOFIX child seat anchors and dual front airbags as standard across the range. Central locking with an immobiliser is also standard.

Sonet LX:

LX models come standard with body-coloured bumpers and trim for the electrically adjustable side mirrors, as well as a new 16-inch styled wheel that adds a modern, sporty touch to the exterior. Inside, black cloth upholstery combined with artificial leather is standard, with height adjustment for the driver’s seat. Electric windows are on offer all-round, with manual air-conditioning as standard.

An 8-inch touchscreen infotainment system takes pride of place in the dashboard, incorporating a reverse camera. The Sonet infotainment system includes Bluetooth connectivity with voice recognition, wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto and USB ports.

Sonet EX:

The EX gets additional rear parking sensors and rear fog lamps and roof rails, while the electric side mirrors gain integrated indicator signal lamps. The high-mounted stop lamp in the rear spoiler, the rear combination lights, the positioning lamps and the front Daytime Running Lights are also updated from bulb to LED.

Inside, a storage box with an integrated armrest has been added between the two front seats, while the steering wheel and gear shifter gain leather cladding. Drivers also gain the benefit of conventional cruise control.

Sonet EX Plus:

The EX Plus adds a range of high-grade additional features to the EX-grade specification like an upgrade from the 8-inch touchscreen infotainment screen to a 10.25-inch unit integrated with a 10.25-inch TFT LCD ‘Supervision’ instrument cluster.

The EX Plus models also gain full artificial leather upholstery, with the addition of an electrochromatic rearview mirror and a wireless charging pad for mobile devices.

Sonet SX:

The SX grade is new to the Sonet range and presents the highest possible specification available. It adds a range of Advanced Driver Assistance Systems (ADAS), like Blind Spot Collision Avoidance Assist, Lane Keep Assist (LKA), Lane Follow Assist (LFA) and Forward Collision Avoidance Assist (FCA).


1.5 LX Manual (R366 995), 1.5 LX CVT (R391 995), 1.5 EX CVT (R411 995), 1.0 T-GDi EX DCT (R436 995), 1.5 EX Plus CVT (R454 995) and the 1.5 SX CVT (R484 995).

More Product News stories