VW dealers shine at Grand Prix Awards

Volkswagen held its Grand Prix Awards where top dealerships; motor groups and individuals were recognised for their achievements during 2022.

23 V Wdoty1 60

The top titles up for grabs, were the Dealer of the Year (Macro & Micro), Group Dealer of the Year (Macro & Micro) and the cherry on top, the overall Dealer of the Year 2022.

A force to be reckoned with, as always, was the Hatfield Motor Group, which not only scooped up the silverware as the VW Macro Group Dealer of the Year, but its Braamfontein dealership took top honours as the overall VW Dealer of the Year for 2022.

Steffen Knapp (Head of the VW Passenger Car Brand), with the DP at Hatfield Braamfontein, Gavin le Roux).

The Hatfield Group was recently also named the 2022 Audi Dealer Group of the Year for the 11th time.

VW Braamfontein also won the Macro category (A) as VW Dealer of the Year, while the Micro category (B & C) honours went to The Lowveld Group, also no stranger to winning top awards.

Lowveld Group walked away with the top titles in the Micro category for VW Group Dealer of the Year and Dealer of the Year.

Steffen Knapp (Head of the VW Passenger Car Brand), Anru Myburgh (DP at VW Highlands) and Mark Handley (Head of VW Commercial Vehicles).

The Lowveld Group won the top title as overall VW Dealer of the Year last year for 2021. The Lowveld Group, with its headquarters in Mbombela, has three VW dealerships in Mpumalanga, namely Alan Hudson Motors (Mbombela), Palm Motors (White River) and Highlands (Mashishing).

Michael Kaftel received the Macro Group Dealer award on behalf of the Hatfield Group, while Gavin le Roux (DP at VW Hatfield Braamfontein) received the Macro Dealer of the Year and overall Dealer of the Year awards.

Lemmy Dolezal received the Micro Group Dealer award on behalf of the Lowveld Group, while Anru Myburgh (DP at Lowveld Group’s VW Highlands) was handed the trophy for Micro Dealer of the Year.

Steffen Knapp (Head of the VW Passenger Car Brand), Michael Kaftel (Franchise Director at Hatfield Group) and Martina Biene (Chairperson and Managing Director: VWSA
Thomas Milz (Sales and Marketing Director, VWSA), Lemmy Dolezal (Lowveld Group) and Steffen Knapp (Head of the VW Passenger Car Brand).

Volkswagen Club of Excellence Dealer of the Year winners:

(Macro) - Gavin le Roux (Hatfield VW Braamfontein 1st), Geo Nel (McCarthy VW Parow 2nd), Ryan Brews (Hatfield VW Melrose 3rd and first in the Commercial Vehicle section), Damon Tymvios (Hatfield VW Bryanston 4th), Lourens Steyn (Hatfield VW Rivonia 5th ), Nogel Powis (Barons N1 City 6th) and Sibusiso Mabaso (McCarthy Volkswagen 7th).

(Micro) – In the B section, Tyrone Tait (Alpine Hillcrest 1st), Gert du Preez (Autohaus Windhoek 2nd) and Jacques Schutte (Ballito Volkswagen 3rd). Still in the Micro category (C), the winners were Anru Myburgh (VW Highlands 1st), Gert du Preez (Autohaus Swakopmund 2nd) and third Epie du Plessis (Du Plessis Motors 3rd).

Volkswagen’s Club of Excellence Dealer of the Year winners.

Other awards for top achievers in different categories went to:

Overall winner - New Vehicle Sales Manager of the Year: Andrew Angles (Barons N1 City).

Overall winner - Service Manager of the Year Award: Neville Rejendra (VW West Cape).

Overall winner: - New Vehicle Sales Executive, Top Fleet Sales: Bernadine van der Linde (VW Barons Bruma).

New Vehicle Sales Managers Awards:

Riaan Spong (Dirk Ellis Volkswagen, C), Alpine Hillcrest Dineshin Odayar (Alpine Hillcrest, B) and Marco Meijer (Hatfield VW Braamfontein, A).

New Vehicle Sales Executive:

Downey Boonzaaier (VW Mossel Bay, C) and Marco Daniels (Barons N1 City, A).

F&I Business Managers:

Reno Botes (VW Hermanus, C), Oscar van Wyk (VW Table View, B) and Jaycegan Naicker (McCarthy VW Durban A).

MasterCars Sales Executive:

Clinton du Plessis (CFAO VW Commercial JHB, C), Rynard Snyman (VW Table View, B) and Charlinda Roodt (Hatfield VW Pretoria, A).

MasterCars Sales Manager:

Patrick Lennon (Volkswagen Highlands, C), André van der Walt (Autohaus Windhoek, B) and Craig Schraibmann (Hatfield VW Rivonia, A).

Group Parts Manager:

Shane Govender (Alpine Hillcrest, D), Samuel Odendaal (Lannie Motors, C), Camille Iqbal (Lindsay Saker East Rand Mall, B) and Jason Victor (Lindsay Saker Germiston, A).

Service Managers Awards:

Sonnette Liebenberg (Rola VW Hermanus, C), Neville Rejendra (VW West Cape, B) and Fagrie Essa (Barons Cape Town, A).

More Dealer News stories