Toyota rewards best dealers

For the first time since 2019, Toyota South Africa Motors (TSAM) held its first physical Dealer of the Year (DOTY) awards ceremony, where outstanding Hino, Lexus and Toyota dealers were celebrated. The event took place at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg.

Toyota Awards1

Leon Theron, Senior Vice President of Sales and Marketing at TSAM, conferred the trophies on the winners.

The Hino Dealer of the Year award went to Gansen Chetty of Hino Shelley Beach. “The Dealer Principal of this dealership continuously motivates his team. He embraces the Hino Total Support philosophy in every aspect. The team at the dealership is always willing to go the extra mile to ensure total customer satisfaction,” says the winning statement.

The Lexus Dealer of the Year award went to Christopher Jones of Lexus Fourways. “A performance like this requires visionary leadership and a passionate, dedicated team – aspects that are firmly entrenched in this dealer’s DNA. It is an absolute pleasure to reward this outstanding performance and give this team the recognition it so rightfully deserves,” was the summary of their performance.

From left: Andrew Kirby (President and CEO of TSAM); George Baikie (CEO Halfway Group), Christopher Jones (Lexus Dealer of the Year), Dirk van Rooy (Toyota Dealer if the Year), Gansen Chetty (Hino Dealer of the Year), Shane Grant (CEO Halfway Toyota Motor Holdings), Leon Theron (Senior Vice President of Sales and Marketing: TSAM).

The Toyota Dealer of the Year went to Dirk van Rooy of Halfway Toyota Honeydew. “The performance of this dealership is proof that strong leadership and the right people make all the difference. The Dealer Principal has always been intentional about growing and developing his staff. He also allows his management team members to lead their own departments, resulting in a very innovative and highly motivated team,” according to TSAM.

Awarded annually, the Toyota dealer awards are based on a comprehensive set of metrics on which each Toyota/Lexus/Hino dealer is measured over the preceding year. These criteria include customer service, environmental protection, financial performance and vehicle sales.

Leon says while the evening was about celebrating TSAM’s dealers, the company was “proud to have been operating in South Africa for more than 60 years and manufacturing vehicles at the Prospecton Plant in Durban for 50 years, while we have also been retailing Hino trucks and buses in the country for the same period.”

Also recognised at the event was Glyn Hall, Team Principal of Toyota Gazoo Racing SA, for his pivotal role in the success of Hilux in the Dakar. This year saw four cars enter the 2022 Dakar Rally, including Nasser Al-Attiyah and navigator Mathieu Baumel; Giniel de Villiers and navigator Dennis Murphy; Henk Lategan and navigator Brett Cummings; and Shameer Variawa and navigator Danie Stassen. The 2022 Dakar Rally was, in the end, won by Al-Attiyah and Baumel, and all the cars made it safely to the finishing line.

TSAM’s President and CEO Andrew Kirby, together with Leon Theron, also presented the President’s Award to Lichtenburg Toyota (Small dealer category), eThekwini Toyota Westville (Medium dealer category), Halfway Toyota Scottburgh (Large dealer category) and Halfway Toyota Fourways (Mega dealer category).

More Dealer News stories